A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma.”

When it comes to mysteries, I only love them in the form of novels or games. I, myself am anything but a mystery. I am the ‘what you see is what you get’ kinda girl. If you don’t ask, I won’t tell. I am rather private about my life, and I only share what I think is necessary in a particular moment. But I am also an open book in that I have never been secretive about who I am as a person. Or at least I’d like to think so.

After a long conversation with a good friend, we came to a topic that both of us had similar experiences on – other people’s perceptions of who we were.

Now perception is one of those weird things that you can’t really explain. There are two meanings; the first is the ability to see, hear, or become aware of something through the senses. The second is the way in which something is regarded, understood, or interpreted. In most cases the first definition is what leads you to the second definition. What I mean by that is, you recognise something using your senses and then interpret the meaning using what you already know. But enough with the Psychology lesson.

One of the most common ways of perceiving someone is based on the way they look. We stereotype. I do, you do, everyone does. Its can’t be helped and not a big deal as long as you acknowledge that it’s a stereotype and does not define the person. Often we stereotype by ethnicity, religion, clothing choices, the hairstyle or the personal possessions of another person. Most of the time its superficial. We categorise because it helps us make sense of things. It the logical thing to do.

tumblr_nnw8h8xBCo1tqp4a0o1_500

But we often forget that ‘people’ are anything but logical. We are irrational and complicated and contradictory and  weird and beautiful all at the same time.

What I look like, how I dress, my faith – these thing individually can’t possibly express my personality and character. Yes, I am Indian but my life isn’t like Bollywood. I am catholic but that does not mean that I am close minded and conservative. I wear glasses does not mean I am a geek or A+. I am studying business but I am not majoring in Accounting.

If you took the time to get to know me you would find out that I like rock, country and pop music. I love superheroes and DC comics. I enjoy volunteering. I dislike surprises parties. I love art and travel. I have a tattoo. I hate pineapple flavoured candy. I can hold my liquor rather well. I am terrible at math. I am not a cat person. And a whole bunch of other things.

I’ve had people say that they can’t figure me out, or that they don’t get me. To those people all I can say that I am glad. I like that I’m not so simple that you can just look at me and know who I am. I like being complicated. I’m not like a jigsaw puzzle that if you have all the pieces to, it creates a perfect picture. If people take the time and actually get to know me, they would see a flawed person who is still learning and growing. People need to reach a level of awareness  at which it’s okay to not completely understand and have answers for everything. It’s about discovering things as you go and appreciating these for what they are. A small part of a complex being.

I am not mysterious. I’m just me.

6 thoughts on “A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma

  1. Pingback: Happy? State of mind. | Old Murky Heart

  2. Pingback: Eyes of sorrow – Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

