Changes

Wow.  It’s been a while.

It’s crazy how fast time flies. And it’s not like I’m having so much fun, that I haven’t noticed how time has gone by. It’s more along the lines of I have no idea what I’m supposed to be doing and my life is moving on without me. Or at least it was, until I decided that it was time for a change.

2015 was not an uneventful year. I mean, shit happened. I finished my BCom and graduated, my cousin moved to NZ with her family, I quit my old job, travelled to visit a friend, I spent a lot of time with my niece/godchild. So yeah, like I said, shit happened. Other than that, this year doesn’t seem all that memorable. In fact, it was rather mediocre.

By the time December 2015 rolled around, I was feeling kinda bummed by the unforgiving and frustrating job hunt I’d been on since April. I was annoyed at people who kept asking me how the job search was going. I was feeling shitty that a person who I considered my best friend since we were 10 literally ceased all communication with me and our other friends.

I was over it. 2015 needed to end and soon. But not before I made some changes and found some sense of direction.

When people say a moment can change your life, I tend to agree. Usually the change people refer to is a big one, an extreme shift of sorts. Though, in my case the change didn’t seem all that big, or instantaneously life altering. It was choice to do something new, that in the long run, I believe, will be life changing.

What choice was this, you ask?

I chose to apply to teachers college.

Yup, that’s it. Not all that exciting. You’re probably wondering what could have possibly made me want to go back to studying when I literally just finished my bachelors 6 months ago? That my friends, is a story for another post.

I applied to do a Graduate Diploma in Primary Teaching. Its supposed to be a one year intensive course, that will basically allow me to become a fully qualified teacher next year. I did the required tests, the interview, the police vetting before Christmas. All that was left to do was wait.

2016 bought me some good news. I got in! And I will be starting said course tomorrow!

So some changes this year. Hopefully for the better. I feel like I’m finally excited about my life again. I hope the good things continue.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Changes

Leave a Reply

